Forums

Unfortunately no one can be told what FluxBB is - you have to see it for yourself.

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-09-11 14:59:05

Studio384
Developer
From: Belgium
Registered: 2012-04-11
Posts: 647
Website

Improve check for updates

FluxBB gets a system that checks on updates, but before it do that, you have to click on the link "Check for updates". My question is: why? This can better, not? And it's easy to do, just move some code and you get something like this:

504f514ad8998-Capture.PNG

The update checker is right there, on the admin index. And if ticket 666 comes true, it gives the index a function.


FluxBB Community Benelux - ModernBB 3.4
Profile Plus: A new FluxBB profile interface

Offline

#2 2012-09-11 15:09:40

Franz
Lead developer
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-05-13
Posts: 6,047
Website

Re: Improve check for updates

I suppose you just moved the file_get_contents() call with our latest_version page to the admin index page, right?

Without caching, this would mean our server gets a request for every single time somebody views their admin index page.

We will definitely have a better update notification system in 2.0, but not without proper caching. Still, good idea. smile


fluxbb.de | develoPHP

"As code is more often read than written it's really important to write clean code."

Offline

#3 2012-09-11 15:35:02

Studio384
Developer
From: Belgium
Registered: 2012-04-11
Posts: 647
Website

Re: Improve check for updates

Franz wrote:

Without caching, this would mean our server gets a request for every single time somebody views their admin index page.

Then it's also possible to put the update feature at the admin menu, so it doesn't check directly one admin_index.php is loaded. A new menu button...


FluxBB Community Benelux - ModernBB 3.4
Profile Plus: A new FluxBB profile interface

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB 1.5.8